Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution
The promotion advancement of science, literature and art
The original site of the Institution was Terrace Walk, by Parade Gardens. It replaced the Lower Assembly Rooms (Harrisons) which was burnt down in 1820.
Early six-shooter:This six shot percussion pepperbox revolver was made by Clough & Son of Bath (who were based on Southgate Street), c.1850. It has a fluted barrel block with six numbered chambers, each stamped with London proof marks. The rounded frame, chequered walnut 1-piece grip, and blueing (passivation) of the steel, are all testament to the fine craftsmanship of this piece.